NOAA

The NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) satellites have a very long and distinguished history. The U.S. meteorological programme started in 1960 with the launch of TIROS-1 (Television and Infrared Observation Satellite). The TIROS programme was the result of an international collaboration between the U.S., the United Kingdom and France.

In 1970, infrared sensors were added to the satellites payload, allowing image acquisition during both night and day. From then on the satellites were renamed NOAA.

As of 1978, NOAA satellites were equipped with the Advanced Very High Resolution Radiometer (AVHRR), an instrument sensing in the visible, near infrared, mid-infrared and thermal infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum.

In 50 years, five generations of satellites followed one another: TIROS (10 satellites), ESSA (9 satellites), ITOS (8 satellites), TIROS-N (3 satellites) and ATN (Advanced TIROS-N, 13 satellites to date).

The POES (Polar Operational Environmental Satellite) programme includes the last 2 series. Five NOAA satellites are currently operational. The last one, NOAA-19, was launched in February 2009.

NOAA maintains at least two operational satellites in complemenatry orbits, with the even-numbered satellites crossing the equator in the early morning and early evening and the odd-numbered satellites crossing the equator in the afternoon and late evening. Together they provide twice-daily global coverage, and ensure that data for any region of the Earth are no more than six hours old.

NOAA satellites allow to monitor, on a global scale, snow and sea ice extents, water surface temperatures, or vertical profiles of atmospheric temperature and humidity.

Characteristics of NOAA-15 to NOAA-19
altitude: 807 - 870 km
inclination: 98.5° - 99°
orbit: Quasi polar, sunsynchronous
orbit period: 101-102 minutes
revisit time: 1 day

AVHRR/3 (Advanced Very High Resolution Radiometer)
The Scanning Radiometer AVHRR is characterized by a very wide field of view. Its swath is 2940 km and its spatial resolution is 1 km in the infrared and 0.5 km in the visible. Twice a day, the instrument provides images of the cloud cover over the entire world, and it also offers frequent images of the land and sea surfaces. The instrument is especially well-suited for studying vegetation on a world scale, e.g. for the study of seasonal changes. It also allows to monitor sea surface temperatures and the ice covering extent.

Band
Band width Applications
1 (visible) 0,58 - 0,68 µm Clouds and land surfaces cartography (day)
2 (Near IR) 0,725 - 1,00 µm Clouds and land surfaces cartography (day)
3A (Near IR) 1,580 - 1,64 µm Snow and ice detection
3B (IR) 3,550 - 3,93 µm Clouds and sea surface temperature mapping (night)
4 (IR) 10,30 - 11,30 µm Clouds and sea surface temperature mapping (night)
5 (IR) 11,50 - 12,50 µm Sea surface temperature


AMSU-A1, -A2 en -B (Advanced Microwave Sounding Units)

AMSU-A possesses 15 channels in the microwave range and allows one to calculate vertical temperature profiles from the Earth's surface up to a pressure of around 3hPa (45 km), even in the presence of clouds. AMSU works in a complementary manner to HIRS, which has a better resolution than AMSU but is more affected by clouds.
AMSU-B has 5 channels and also measures moisture profiles.

HIRS/4 (High Resolution Infrared Radiation Sounder)
HIRS has 20 channels (1 visible: 0.69 µm, 7 short wavelength channels: 3.7 – 4.6 µm and 12 long wavelength channels: 6.7 - 15 µm). This instrument delivers high-resolution temperature profiles under cloudless conditions. These measurements are of great importance for meteorology and climatology.

SBUV/2 (The Solar Backscatter Ultraviolet Spectral Radiometer)
From the measurements made with this instrument, one can derive atmospheric characteristics related to stratospheric ozone (the global and vertical distribution, the structure and dynamics thereof, etc.).

SEM-2 (Space Environment Monitor)
SEM-2 measures the flow of charged particles up at the satellite's altitude, and thus contributes to our understanding of the "sun-earth" system.

SAR (Search and Rescue Repeater and Processor Support)
The Search and Rescue system, sponsored by Canada, France, Russia and the USA, uses satellites and other means to receive emergency signals sent from ships, airplanes, land expeditions, and even from individuals having the right equipment.


Mission website

Data distributors:

U.S. Geological Survey


AVHRR
Great Lakes
Courtesy of Environment Canada
http://ice-glaces.ec.gc.ca/

 


AVHRR
Norway
Courtesy of Tromsø Satellite Staion

HIRS
Courtesy of NASA,
Goddard Space Flight Center

NOAA

Les satellites NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) ont une très longue histoire derrière eux. Le programme météorologique des USA a débuté en 1960 avec le lancement du premier satellite météorologique, TIROS-1 (Television and Infrared Observation Satellite), fruit d’une collaboration internationale entre les USA, le Royaume Uni et la France.

A partir de 1970, les satellites ont été équipés de capteurs infrarouge, ce qui permit l’acquisition ininterrompue d’images nuit et jour. C’est à partir de cette date que les satellites furent renommés NOAA.

Depuis 1978, les satellites NOAA sont dotés du radiomètre AVHRR, capable d’enregistrer le rayonnement électromagnétique du visible, du proche IR, du moyen IR et de l’IR thermique. 

En 50 ans, cinq générations de satellites se sont succédées: TIROS (10 satellites), ESSA (9 satellites), ITOS (8 satellites), TIROS-N (3 satellites) et ATN (Advanced TIROS-N, 13 satellites à ce jour). 

Le programme POES (Polar Operational Environmental Satellite) regroupe les 2 dernières séries. Actuellement, 5 satellites NOAA sont opérationnels, le dernier de la série, NOAA-19, ayant été lancé en février 2009.

Les satellites NOAA fonctionnent en binômes sur des orbites polaires opposées, de manière à assurer une couverture totale de la Terre mise à jour au moins toutes les 6 heures. En effet, une même région est survolée 4 fois par jour, en matinée et en soirée par le satellite de numéro pair, de nuit et en début d'après-midi pour le satellite de numéro impair.

Ces satellites permettent le suivi, à l’échelle globale, de l’étendue des glaces et surfaces enneigées, des températures de surface de l’eau, des profils verticaux de températures atmosphériques et d’humidité. 


Caractéristiques NOAA-15 à 19
altitude: 807 - 870 km
inclinaison: 98,5° - 99°
orbite: quasi-polaire, héliosynchrone
Période de révolution: 102 minutes
capacité de revisite: 1 jour

Capteur AVHRR/3 (Advanced Very High Resolution Radiometer)
Le radiomètre à balayage AVHRR est caractérisé par un champ d’observation très large. Sa fauchée est de 2940 km et sa résolution de 1 km dans l’IR et 0,5 km dans le visible. L'instrument livre 2 fois par jour des images de nuages du monde entier et offre également des images fréquentes des surfaces des mers et des terres. L'instrument est particulièrement bien adapté pour l'étude de la végétation à l'échelle mondiale, par exemple pour l'étude des changements de saison. Il permet également de suivre les températures de surface des mers et l’étendue de la couche de glace.

Bande
Largeur de bande Applications
1 (visible) 0,58 - 0,68 µm Cartographie de jour des zones nuageuses et de la surface terrestre
2 (proche IR) 0,725 - 1,00 µm Cartographie de jour des zones nuageuses et de la surface terrestre
3A (proche IR) 1,580 - 1,64 µm Détection neige et glace
3B (IR) 3,550 - 3,93 µm Cartographie de nuit des zones nuageuses et température de surface de la mer
4 (IR) 10,30 - 11,30 µm Cartographie de nuit des zones nuageuses et température de surface de la mer
5 (IR) 11,50 - 12,50 µm Température de surface de la mer

AMSU-A1, -A2 en -B (Advanced Microwave Sounding Units)
AMSU-A dispose de 15 canaux dans le domaine des micro-ondes et permet de calculer les profils verticaux de température depuis la surface de la Terre jusqu'à une pression d'environ 3hPa (45 km), même en cas de présence de nuages. AMSU travaille en complémentarité avec HIRS, qui offre une meilleure résolution que AMSU mais est plus facilement influencé par les nuages. AMSU-B dispose de 5 canaux et mesure également les profils d'humidité.

HIRS/4 (High Resolution Infrared Radiation Sounder)
HIRS dispose de 20 canaux (1 visible : 0,69 µm, 7 canaux à ondes courtes : 3,7 - 4,6 µm et 12 canaux à ondes longues : 6,7 - 15 µm). Cet instrument livre des profils de température à haute résolution lorsqu'il n'y a pas de nuages. Ces mesures sont d'une grande importance pour la météorologie et la climatologie.

SBUV/2 (The Solar Backscatter Ultraviolet Spectral Radiometer)
On peut déduire des mesures effectuées avec cet instrument des caractéristiques atmosphériques en relation avec l'ozone stratosphérique (distribution globale et verticale, structure et dynamique,...)

SEM-2 (Space Environment Monitor)
SEM-2 mesure le flux des éléments chargés à hauteur du satellite et offre ainsi une contribution à une meilleure compréhension du système "soleil-terre".

SAR (Search and Rescue Repeater and Processor Support)
Le système Search and Rescue, sponsorisé par le Canada, la France, la Russie et les USA, utilise les satellites et autres moyens pour recevoir les signaux de détresse des bateaux, avions, expéditions terrestres ou même d'individus équipés du matériel nécessaire.

Site internet de la mission

Distributeurs des données

U.S. Geological Survey


AVHRR
Great Lakes
Courtesy of Environment Canada
http://ice-glaces.ec.gc.ca/

 


AVHRR
Norway
Courtesy of Tromsø Satellite Staion

HIRS
Courtesy of NASA,
Goddard Space Flight Center