ENVISAT

The ESA's ENVISAT satellite was launched on March 1, 2002. Just weeks after celebrating its tenth year in orbit, communication with the satellite was suddenly lost and the end of the mission had to be declared.

The Envisat programme was a continuation of the ERS-1 and ERS-2 missions. It was primarily intended for scientific research.
Along with instruments which were already present on the ERS satellites (ASAR, RA-2, AATSR), ENVISAT also had onboard a range of other instruments, including GOMOS (Global Ozone Monitoring by Occultation of Stars), MIPA (Michelson Onterferometer for Passive Atmospheric sounding) and SCIAMACHY (SCanning Imaging Absorption spectroMeter for Atmospheric CartograpHY).

The MERIS (MEdium Resolution Imaging Spectrometer) instrument is a programmable spectrometer allowing data recording in 15 spectral bands in the 390 – 1040 nm range and with a spatial resolution of 1040 x 1200 m for marine applications and of 2360 x 300 m for land and coastal applications..

The 10 instruments onboard Envisat were designed to study Earth’s land, ocean, atmosphere and ice caps. The collected data from the various sensors can be used to:

• study environmental and climate changes on Earth at the local, regional and global levels
• contribute to the management and monitoring of all raw materials, whether renewable or not
• continue measurements to serve the meteorological community
• acquire a better understanding of the dynamic and structure of the Eearth's crust and interior.

Among the parameters that can be studied, we can mention: ocean colour, cloud cover, ozone layer thickness, greenhouse gas emissions, terrestrial biomass, iceberg topography, wave height, soil moisture content or the top-of-atmosphere irradiance.

altitude: 800 km
inclination: 98,6°
orbit: sun-synchronous
orbit period: ±100 min
revisit time (MERIS): 3 days
service life: 1/03/2002 - 9/05/2012

Mission website

Envisat technical site

Access to data : ESA Earth Online Data Access

Access to Envisat data

ENVISAT

Le satellite ENVISAT de l'Agence Spatiale européenne a été lancé le 1er mars 2002. Quelques semaines après avoir fêté son 10e anniversaire, la liaison avec le satellite a été brusquement interrompue et l'ESA a dû déclarer la fin de la mission.

Le programme Envisat était une prolongation des missions ERS-1 et ERS-2. A côté d'un certain nombre d'instruments déjà présents à bord des satellites ERS (ASAR, RA-2, AATSR), ENVISAT avait à son bord toute une série de nouveaux instruments dont GOMOS (surveillance de l’ozone à l’échelle du Globe par occultation d’étoiles), MIPAS (interférométre de Michelson pour le sondage passif de l’atmosphère) et SCHIAMACHY (spectromètre d’absorption à balayage et prise d’images pour la cartographie de l’atmosphère).

L’instrument MERIS (spectromètre imageur à moyenne résolution) permet la programmation d’enregistrement dans 15 bandes spectrales au sein de la fenêtre 390 – 1040 nm (Visible – Proche IR), avec une résolution spatiale de 1040 x 1200 m pour les applications marines et de 260 x 300 m pour les applications terrestres et côtières.

Les 10 instruments embarqués sur Envisat étaient conçus pour l’étude des terres émergées, des océans, de l’atmosphère et des glaces. Les observations recueillies permettent:
• l’étude des changements de l'environnement et du climat sur Terre, tant au niveau local et régional que mondial;
• de contribuer à la gestion et au suivi des ressources non renouvelables;
• de prolonger les mesures au service de la communauté météorologique;
• de parvenir à une meilleure compréhension de la dynamique et de la structure de la croûte terrestre et de l'intérieur de la Terre.

Parmi les paramètres qui peuvent être étudiés, on peut citer: la couleur de l'océan, la couche nuageuse, l’épaisseur de la couche d’ozone, les gaz à effet de serre, la biomasse terrestre, la topographie des icebergs, la hauteur des vagues, le taux d'humidité dans le sol ou l’intensité du rayonnement au-dessus de l'atmosphère.

altitude: 800 km
inclinaison: 98,6°
orbite: héliosynchrone
période de révolution: ± 100 min
capacité de revisite (MERIS): 3 jours
fauchée (MERIS): 1150 km
durée de vie: 1/03/2002 - 9/05/2012

Site internet de la mission

Voir aussi

Where is Envisat?

Envisat technical website

Accès aux données Envisat