Remote sensing
Data acquisition
Image processing
Radar
GIS
 
Radar
 
It is important to distinguish active sensors from passive sensors. A passive sensor measures the radiation transmitted or reflected by a feature on Earth. An active sensor sends out an electromagnetic signal to illuminate the terrain and records or measures the response from the target or surface. Active sensors are independent of the sun and solar conditions and can operate 24 hours a day.

One of the best known active sensors is RADAR. Radar is an acronym for RAdio Detection And Ranging. Radar operates in the microwave portion of the electromagnetic spectrum beyond the visible and thermal infrared regions.


The scene to be "photographed" is thus illuminated with not light, but microwave radiation. Microwave images provide information about the geometric and dielectric properties of the target studied. These relate mainly to the target’s roughness and composition (iron, concrete, wood, moisture content), which makes radar images more difficult to interpret than optical images.
In general, imaging radar uses wavelengths from 1 mm to 1 meter. Longer wavelengths (lower frequencies) are generally for purposes such as communication and navigation. Operating in the microwave region of the electromagnetic spectrum improves signal penetration (decreases attenuation) of the atmosphere. Contrary to optical sensors, imaging radar is not affected by cloud cover or haze and is fairly insensitive to weather conditions. Water clouds affect radar operating at wavelengths below 2 cm only, while the effects of rain are relatively inconsequential at wavelengths over 4 cm.

Merapi and Merbabu, Indonesia
Courtesy of NASA/JPL

Imaging radars operate at a specific wavelength. Whereas optical sensors record electromagnetic energy in bands that encompass a range of wavelengths (e.g., 0.4-0.5 micrometers), a radar system records the signal response from the ground or target at a single, specific wavelength (e.g., 23 cm). To take the comparison farther, the visible part of the electromagnetic spectrum can be said to include the red, green, and blue spectral regions. Similarly, the active microwave region includes X, C, L, and K bands, among others, that refer to specific segments of the microwave portions of the electromagnetic spectrum. For instance an “X” band system would be a radar that operated at a single wavelength within this band (e.g., 3.2 cm). This alphabetic reference to radar wavelength was first established by the military in the early days of radar research for exploration operations. Over time several other identification schemes have been suggested and employed by other governments and scientists. However, the assignment of letters to microwave frequency regions has been adopted as the de facto, if not official, wavelength reference system for radar.

Radar has a variety of characteristics valuable to geoscientists. Perhaps the two most notable are its above-mentioned weather independence and 24-hour operation. Radar also provides a unique perspective of the landscape and many unique opportunities for quantitative terrain analysis. Several features have been advertised and used in operational systems. Some were initially oversold, whereas others, although under-developed at present, may provide the keys to the operational imaging radar systems of the future.


Phang Hoei Range, Thailand
Courtesy of NASA/JPL


Mississippi Delta, USA
Courtesy of NASA/JPL

See also our Links

La Télédétection
Acquisition de données
Traitement d'images
Radar
Systèmes d'Information Géographique (SIG)
 
Radar
 
Il est important de distinguer entre les capteurs actifs et les capteurs passifs. Un capteur passif mesure la radiation transmise ou réfléchie par un élément sur terre. Un capteur actif envoie un signal électromagnétique pour illuminer le terrain et mesurer la réponse de la cible ou de la surface. Les capteurs actifs ne dépendent pas du soleil et des conditions solaires et peuvent opérer 24 heures sur 24.

Un des capteurs actifs les mieux connus est le RADAR. Radar est un acronyme pour Radio Detection and Ranging (détection et télémétrie par radio). Le radar opère dans la portion micro-ondes du spectre électromagnétique, au-delà des régions visible et infrarouge thermique.

La scène à “photographier” est donc illuminée, non pas par de la lumière mais par des rayons à micro-ondes. L’image micro-ondes fournit des informations sur les propriétés géométriques et diélectriques de la cible étudiée. Celles-ci concernent principalement ses inégalités et sa composition (fer, béton, bois, teneur en humidité), ce qui rend les images radar plus difficiles à interpréter que les images optiques.



En général, l’imagerie radar utilise des longueurs d’onde de 1 mm à 1 mètre. Les longueurs d’ondes supérieures (basses fréquences) sont généralement utilisées dans des applications comme la communication et la navigation. Opérer dans la région micro-ondes du spectre électromagnétique améliore la pénétration du signal (diminue l’atténuation) dans l’atmosphère. Contrairement aux capteurs optiques, l’image radar n’est pas gênée par une couverture nuageuse ou de la brume et est plutôt insensible aux conditions météorologiques. Les nuages d’eau affectent uniquement le radar opérant à des longueurs d’onde en dessous de 2 cm, alors que les effets de la pluie sont plutôt sans conséquence pour des longueurs d’onde de 4 cm.


Merapi and Merbabu, Indonesia
Courtesy of NASA/JPL
L’imagerie radar opère à une longueur d’onde spécifique. Alors que les capteurs optiques enregistrent l’énergie électromagnétique en bandes qui couvrent une série de longueurs d’ondes (ex.: 0,4-0,5 micromètres), un système radar enregistre la réponse du sol ou de la cible au signal à une seule longueur d’onde bien spécifique (ex.: 23 cm). Pour prolonger la comparaison, la partie visible du spectre électromagnétique peut être considérée comme englobant les régions spectrales rouge, verte et bleue. De manière similaire, la région active micro-ondes englobe entre autres les bandes X, C, L et K, qui font référence à des segments spécifiques des portions micro-ondes du spectre électromagnétique. Par exemple, un système à bande “X” serait un radar opérant sur une seule longueur d’onde au sein de cette bande (ex:. 3.2 cm). Cette référence alphabétique pour les ondes radar a été établie par les militaires pour des opération d’exploration dans les premières heures du radar. Par après plusieurs autres schémas d’identification ont été proposés et employés par d’autres gouvernements et scientifiques. Toutefois, l’assignation de lettres aux régions de fréquences micro-ondes a été adoptée comme système de référence de facto, si pas officiel, pour le radar.

Phang Hoei Range, Thailand
Courtesy of NASA/JPL


Mississippi Delta, USA
Courtesy of NASA/JPL

Voir également notre section Liens